Sleep easy – calm tea. [53]

It is no surprise to say that i have been struggling to sleep with everything that has been going on in my life. I lay there wide awake most nights, tossing and turning, over thinking every situation possible and thinking of all the things i wish i could go back and change. Then the happy memories haunt me and upset me – so sleep has not been my friend for a long time.

As I’ve mentioned before i do not want to go on medication for my anxiety, been there, done that – it was terrible. This time i want to cover as many ‘natural remedies’ as possible to help me.

So, i have brought quite a selection of ‘calming’ teas lately to see if they really do help me feel relaxed or sleepy before bed. I have been having one of these before bed for 3 weeks now – and i think they definitely have helped me. The one i have noticed which instantly make me feel sleepy is the Pukka Night Time, it has an undertone of lavander to it, I’m not sure if it’s the scent or taste which makes me feel sleepy, but it does work!

Camomile tea has also been a saviour, i have used this in the past before. I tend to have this at work now or if i feel anxious or can feel anxiety building, i am trying to use this as my ‘go to’ – to go make a tea, sit on my own and breathe.

I know a lot of people don’t believe in this sort of thing, but at the end of the day whether they scientifically work or not, they have made me feel calmer, and I’m ok with that! It is going to take a lot more then tea to sort me out, but it is a positive step forward. (also credit to my therapist for suggesting these)

Leave a Reply

